Birds of Prey: Peregrine Falcons

Talk about a happy Friday! After spending a restless day at work I grabbed my gear and headed to Spencer Smith park then on the beach and ultimately to the lift bridge. There were two long tailed ducks on the east side of the bridge and not much more on the right. I was readying myself to pack it in for the evening when I heard a loud continuous shreeshreeshree.  I was alone on the lift bridge when this  incredible and surreal sequence of events unfolded in front of my eyes:

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon in flight

Peregrine Falcon with prey

Peregrine Falcon with prey

Peregrine Falcon with a European Starling

Peregrine Falcon with a European Starling in its talons

Peregrine Falcon dining on starling

Peregrine Falcon dining on starling

Feathers falling

Feathers from the dearly departed

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon at appointed location

Peregrine Falcons readying to share a meal

Peregrine Falcons readying to share a meal

Peregrine Falcons

Peregrine Falcons

peregrine falcons sharing a meal

Peregrine falcons sharing a meal

peregrine falcons sharing a meal

Peregrine falcons sharing a meal

I learned of the falcons’ presence from a pair of brothers I met at Lasalle Park in Burlington as they took waterfowl flight shots.  The older brother taught the younger and he in turn taught me the falcons’ and eagles’ hunting habits, provided the locations of other birding spots, shared stories of fellow birders’ specialties, and shared hilarious stories.  Such is the generosity of birders and for that I am extremely grateful.

2 thoughts on “Birds of Prey: Peregrine Falcons

Leave a Reply

