Spring is here: Belted Kingfisher & Osprey

Hendrie Park: Burlington, ON

Last Tuesday I was restless. Typically I would spend time at St. Lawrence Market. I opted to do some birding at Hendrie Park.

Click to view at a larger size.

This dark-eyed junco did manage to take some time out for a snack.

Dark Eyed Junco Hendrie Park Ontario

Dark Eyed Junco

A trek into the eastern portion of the park led to an encounter with the golden-crowned kinglet, a red-tailed hawk and a turkey vulture.

A Golden-Crowned Kinglet at Hendrie Park Ontario

Golden-Crowned Kinglet

Red-Tailed Hawk Hendrie Park Burlington Ontario

Red-Tailed Hawk

Turkey Vulture at Hendrie Park

Turkey Vulture

As I entered the western portion of the park, a pair of ospreys flew over to the sound of seven telephoto lenses.

Osprey Burlington Ontario

Osprey

Click to view at a larger size.

Whilst awaiting their return I took the opportunity to photograph this common grackle.

Common Grackle at Hendrie Park Ontario

Common Grackle

Nearby this great blue heron enjoying a spot of fishing unperturbed by the fuss.

Great Blue Heron at Hendrie Park Burlington, Ontario

Great Blue Heron

Lasalle Park: Burlington, ON

I was spirited away to Lasalle Park.

This dapper red-breasted merganser enjoyed a leisurely swim.

Red-Breasted Merganser (Male) at Lasalle Park

Red-Breasted Merganser (Male)

As we headed towards the boardwalk, I heard a familiar sound. Lo and behold, the mother of all Kodak moments (for me at least) – a belted kingfisher landed right in front of us. With great restraint and fortitude I managed to take a couple photographs prior to her departure.

Belted Kingfisher (Female) at Lasalle Park

Belted Kingfisher (Female)

Click to view at a larger size.

After she left I did a combination Tina Turner and Mick Jagger dance whilst grinning like a Cheshire cat and squealing in utter delight. I was so excited I just about bust! It was, indeed, a time for unrestrained rejoicing. Even now I can’t stop smiling and pumping my fist. You just never know when you will get the picture you longed for.

Oh, while you’re looking for feathered friends, do take a look for their neighbours!

One thought on “Spring is here: Belted Kingfisher & Osprey

Leave a Reply

