Bronte Harbour: Hawks + Karma

I can’t tolerate this heat and humidity. When casting about for a location offering shade, refreshments, and washrooms near the water’s edge Bronte Harbour lit up the radar.

I visited the Bronte Harbour on June 29th and 30th. On day one I was greeted by these mallard ducklings and on day two by a rabbit.

Female Mallard and Ducklings at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Female Mallard and Ducklings

Female Mallard and Ducklings at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

What a cutie!

Cotton Tail Rabbit Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Cotton Tail Rabbit

House sparrows moved into the mud cups lining the perimeter of Compass Lakeside Grill Lounge. The din therefrom cannot be ignored.

House Sparrow chicks at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

House Sparrow chicks

House Sparrow chick at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

House Sparrow chick

On day two as I popped by to practice a bit of photography, the mass choir of birds fell silent. The little ones retreated into the cups while the adults hid in the nearby bushes signaling the arrival of a bird of prey. I looked up and around for some time in the stillness. Suddenly there was a flash of wings to my right. I observed the bird landing in a tree ahead. When I arrived at the tree what a brilliant find! A Cooper’s hawk ripping the feathers from its prey.

Cooper's Hawk at Bronte Harbour, Oakville ON

Cooper’s Hawk plucking prey

Cooper's Hawk at Bronte Harbour, Oakville Ontario

Cooper’s Hawk plucking prey

Cooper's Hawk plucking meal at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Cooper’s Hawk plucking prey

I left the hawk in peace to visit with the red-necked grebe family.

Red-Necked Grebe and chicks at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Red-Necked Grebe and chicks

Red-Necked Grebes and chicks at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Red-Necked Grebes and chicks

Continuing on the trail I encountered a most unusual sight. A chap walking his Siamese cat!

Siamese Cat at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Siamese Cat

On my return along the path about 30 minutes later it was my intention to check under the tree to photograph any bits the hawk may have left behind. As I walked along I saw yet another flash of wings. I could not believe I was afforded another opportunity to photograph the hawk. It returned to the tree, albeit on a different branch, to have a go at another bird.

Cooper's Hawk plucking meal at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Cooper’s Hawk plucking prey

Cooper's Hawk plucking meal, Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Cooper’s Hawk plucking prey

Cooper's Hawk plucking meal, Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Cooper’s Hawk

The walk led to the park west of the marina where about 15 swallows were creating quite a fuss. The cause of their upset was located: another Cooper’s hawk!

Sharp-Shinned Hawk at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Cooper’s Hawk

Karma

Tra-la-la-ing along the main street a magnificent automobile caught my attention. Curiousity got the better of me. “Karma? What’s this then? Karma?” I asked myself with knitted eyebrows. A chap across the street asked me what it was. I told him. He ran over, cell phone in hand, informing me that it is a rare and expensive vehicle. I followed suit and took a few photographs.

 

Karma Car at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Karma vehicle

Karma Car at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Karma vehicle

Exploring the harbour and the surrounding area was a feast for the eyes, heart and mind, as evidenced by the following photographs.

Boats at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Bronte Harbour Marina

Canada Geese Decoration at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Canada Geese Decoration

Mute Swan at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Mute Swan

Village of Bronte sign at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Village of Bronte

War Memorial at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

War Memorial

Ship loading at Suncor at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, Ontario

Loading at Suncor

Happy Canada Day everyone!

Boats at Bronte Harbour, Oakville, ON

Boats at Bronte Harbour

4 thoughts on “Bronte Harbour: Hawks + Karma

Leave a Reply

