Eastern Bluebird, White-winged Scoter and House Wren

St. Jacob’s Market

Yesterday we spent a couple hours at St. Jacob’s Market. The essence of the market remains intact notwithstanding last year’s devastating fire.  Our first stop was the Market Road Antiques store. Here I purchased The Migration of Birds by Janice M. Hughes.  After spending some time we made a number of purchases at the market. Who can resist farm-fresh produce and home-baked goods? We made it a point of purchasing directly from the Mennonites as well as local farmers.

Courtcliffe Park

Our intent was to leave for Courtcliffe Park in Carlisle, Ontario. Regrettably, rain nixed our plans. We read of and recently had an opportunity to visit Courtcliffe. As we walked along we heard a loud and lusty song. Lo, ahead was a new species for us, the house wren.

House Wren in nestbox at Courtcliffe Park, Carlisle, ON

House Wren in nestbox

House Wren at Courtcliffe Park, Carlisle, ON

House Wren

Eastern bluebird nestboxes are located in the field to the left of the wrens. This adult pair we spotted were busily tending to their young.

Eastern Bluebird couple at Courtcliffe Park, Carlisle, ON

Eastern Bluebird couple

Female Eastern Bluebird with an insect at Courtcliffe Park, Carlisle, ON

Female Eastern Bluebird with an insect

Female Eastern Bluebird at Courtcliffe Park, Carlisle, ON

Female Eastern Bluebird

It was indeed a privilege and a thrill to have seen this at-risk species.

Spencer Smith Park

Sooooo, last Saturday I said to myself, self, let’s hit the road before the rain starts. I popped into Pane Fresco near the Lakeshore for yoghurt and fruit to go. By the time I entered Spencer Smith Park I was making good progress with the yoghurt. I barely hit the boardwalk when I encountered an unexpected sight. I thought my eyes were deceiving me. They weren’t. It was indeed a white-winged scoter on the west side of the pier. I am told this is a good early record.

Male White-Winged Scoter (2)

The obviously tired scoter travelled back and forth along the shoreline. Its efforts to find rest on the beach were thwarted by the presence of pedestrians and/or their dogs. The bird ultimately settled on a rock for slightly less than five minutes.

Precious moment

These ducklings were sheltering from the rough water at Spencer Smith.

group of young mallards sheltering from the rough water at Spencer Smith Park, Burlington ON

group of young mallards sheltering from the rough water

I got myself comfortable on a log. Sometime thereafter the family moved and settled to the right of me. They eventually settled to the left of me.  Soon, they were asleep.

Leave a Reply

