#1 Combo: Books and Birding

Books are my joy. I support primarily independent and second-hand bookstores. I prefer independents. Within minutes of entering the store I usually find five books that pique my interest. Sadly, the independents are disappearing rapidly. The second-hand bookstores are brilliant for out-of-print and hard to find books or when I don’t fancy spending $60.00 on a hardcover or when I simply need a chapter or two.

Months ago my family staged an intervention. I was banned from purchasing cookbooks. Imagine my horror, the wailing and gnashing of the teeth, the pity party, the howls of agony. My attention has since turned to birding books.

These titles were purchased in Burlington at A Different Drummer Books:

Titles from A Different Drummer Books

Titles from A Different Drummer Books

These at Book Nook in Burlington whose owner, I learned, is an avid birder:

Titles from The Book Nook

Titles from The Book Nook

These were purchased at BMV Books, a second-hand bookstore in Toronto:

Titles from BMV Books

Titles from BMV Books

Did you notice – one of the BMV books is not like the other, one of the books doesn’t belong. I had my juvenile birder photograph the books for me. Said juvenile birder did not even notice! Tee hee! Folks, that’s how its done.

Arose in the wee hours conflicted as to whether I should head to work or spend the day birding. Thought process: Work will always be there. Birds migrate.

I arrived at Colonel Samuel Smith Park in Toronto shortly after 6:00 a.m. Beautiful morning, great weather, exceptional sunrise.

Toronto skyline shortly after sunrise at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Toronto skyline shortly after sunrise

Mute Swan embracing sunrise at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Mute Swan embracing sunrise

The park was populated with a few joggers and dog walkers. Had my first encounter with a coyote. Thought it was an off-leash dog as is so often encountered at the park. Fortunately, it dashed into the thicket.

At the marina was an experienced birder who I’ve spoken to a few times. He is knowledgeable about the red-necked grebes at both Humber Bay and Colonel Sam. I noted the red-necked grebes had a new set of hatchlings. He confirmed these were the pair’s second set of offspring. The first generation had returned a few days earlier asking to be fed. The parents sent them packing. The youngsters persisted. Ultimately the parents caught and provided them with fish. He surmised, “I guess some parents are soft hearted”.

Favourite photographs:

Juvenile Grackle at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Hello, My Precious

Great Egret in flight at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Great Egret in flight

Elegant Great Egret at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Elegant Great Egret

 

 

Red-Necked Grebes at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Red-Necked Grebes

Great Blue Heron at Colonel Sam Smith Park, Toronto, ON

Great Blue Heron

Next stop was Lasalle Marina in Burlington.

Herring Gull finds lunch at Lasalle Marina in Burlington, ON

Herring Gull finds lunch

American Redstart at Lasalle Marina in Burlington, ON

American Redstart

Then finally Spencer Smith Park in Burlington.

Juvenile Spotted Sandpiper at Spencer Smith Park in Burlington, ON

Juvenile Spotted Sandpiper

 

When I returned to my place of employ the work was, indeed, still there.

Leave a Reply

