Lasalle Marina + Skunk Encounter

Was groggy this foggy morning. Sleep was disturbed. Spirit was willing to head to Colonel Samuel Smith Park but energy just wasn’t there this morning. I figured I’d stay close to home on this my day off. I figured I’d do Lasalle Marina. I was thinking foggy lake shots. Unfortunately, much of the fog had dissipated prior to my arrival.

Burlington Skyway

Burlington Skyway

Heading up a hill I encountered this skunk adjacent to the stairway.

Skunk

Skunk

The cause of this blurred picture is evident! Tee hee!

Skunk

Skunk

Mallards were molting and preening creating feather-topped soil and water.

Mallard Duck colours

Mallard Duck colours

Feather River

Feather River

My favourite mallard photograph:

Mallard

Mallard

While photographing these double-breasted cormorants one surfaced nearby:


Not sure when it is birds learn to respond to the sound of Tim Horton’s food wrappers. This and three other mallards left the water to give me “the look”.

Female Mallard Duck waiting for Tim Horton's handout

Female Mallard Duck waiting for Tim Horton’s handout

The mallards pre-landing positions are comical.

Mallards preparing to land

Mallards preparing to land

Two ospreys were observed, initially in a tree situate overlooking a home, and latterly on this tree.

Osprey

Osprey

Gray catbirds were heard and observed.


The cutest moments of the day were awarded to this female house sparrow and her fledgling.

Juvenile House Sparrow calling for food

Juvenile House Sparrow calling for food

Shortly thereafter, the bald eagle flew by in an easterly direction.

Bald Eagle in flight

Bald Eagle in flight

Overheard just as I was leaving:
Gent 1: “I’m sure there are some activities she likes that you don’t.”
Gent 2: “Yeah. Shopping. It’s never ending.”

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Perfect weather. Lovely surroundings.

If you’re interested, the New York Times published the following articles this week:

1. August 17th – “What the sparrows told me” authored by Trish O’Kane. It is a story of her transition from human rights investigative journalist to a doctoral candidate in environmental studies in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. “- we needed to focus on something beautiful, something positive, something alive…I bought two bird feeders…I started wondering why one sparrow was hogging all the seed. I started thinking about their resilience, their pluck, their focus on immediate needs. If they couldn’t find food, they went somewhere else. If they lost a nest, they built another. They had no time or energy for grief. They clung to the fence in raggedy lines heckling one another like drunken revellers on Bourbon Street. Their sparring made me laugh.”

2. August 21st – “Conservation, or Curation?” penned by John A. Vucetich and Michael Paul Nelson. This piece exposes the true nature of the July 31st revisions to the Endangered Species Act. “This means that as long as a small geographically isolated population remains viable, it won’t matter if the animal or plant in question has disappeared across the vast swath of its former habitat. It won’t qualify for protection.”

Leave a Reply

