Grey and Red Morph Eastern Screech Owls

What a wonderful few days!  One of my daughter’s came home for reading week.  While I was busy at work on Wednesday they were out birding in Burlington.  As they proudly showed me their pictures my eyes just about popped out of my head.  They photographed a gorgeous red morph Eastern Screech Owl!

Red morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington, ON

Red morph Eastern Screech owl

Red morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington, Ontario

Red morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington

Thursday and Friday felt loooooooooong.  I couldn’t wait until Saturday morning.  With directions in hand I headed out on Saturday to view the bird for myself.  I found the tree but assumed the owl was in the cavity.  I walked away but my mind said turn back and take a second look.  I did. Lo and behold, a grey morph Eastern Screech Owl was sitting in the cavity!

Grey morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington, ON

Grey morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington

Grey morph Eastern Screech Owl in Burlington, Ontario

Grey morph Eastern Screech Owl

When I returned home and showed the photographs they went into shock.

I’m hoping this is a nesting pair. I’ve read of a male grey morph standing guard while the female red morph tucks in below sitting on eggs.

We’ll check in on the pair from time to time and report our findings.  We’re super excited!

Leave a Reply

