Hiatus

Gorgeous morning and I’m stuck inside…aargh!

I’d been contending with a three-week history of progressively worsening sciatic pain.  During the wee hours of September 13th I underwent emergency surgery.  Thankfully, the pain is gone.

I’ve got lots of noisy baby American Goldfinches in the backyard to keep me entertained during my four to six week recovery.  I’ll be doing lots of reading and am chomping at the bit to revisit my genealogy project.

On my last trip to Hendrie Valley I noted a poster advertising the Cootes to Escarpment photo contest.  For more information please see cootestoescarpment.ca.  See also their activities calendar for upcoming events.

Good birding to you all!

4 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. So sorry to hear about your problem. I know I’m not the only one that will miss your photos and observations. As I am getting older I enjoy your ramblings through the countryside and excellent photographs. After looking at your photographs and reading your remarks I really feel as though I’ve been actually outside and enjoying myself. I am constantly amazed how you manage to get such good photographs and I am wondering if you are using a proper camera or capturing images with your phone like so many people do these days. We are going camping in Kiilarney Provincial Park tomorrow and I am sure I will be surprised by how few birds we see up there. In my backyard in Aldershot I feed Cardinals, Blue Jay, goldfinches, downy woodpeckers and chickadees to name just a few and even camping in a fairly remote site at the park I very rarely see any birds other than ravens or Loons.and the occasional Merganser. The most wildlife I come across is usually a chipmunk or two or a very territorial red squirrel.
    Hoping you are soon out and about again.
    Anne

    • Hi, Anne. I thank you for your kindness. I shoot with two cameras. My main lens is a 500 mm and I have a Canon Powershot for the distant birds.

      It’s always fun to be out and about. There’s always something to see, even on miserable days. We are truly fortunate in Burlington/Hamilton to have such a variety of birds and wildlife.

      Sounds like you have a great mix of birds in your backyard. I hope you had a fab trip to Kilarney Provincial Park and that you were treated to views of great birds and wildlife.

      I’ll be posting in the next few days.

      Best regards

      • I am so glad you are out and about again, I agree with you Burlington is a great place to look out for birds. Killarney provincial Park is a fantastic place to visit especially if you have a canoe for getting about on the lakes and portages The lakes are quite acidic and you do get to see the occasional Loon or Merganzer. But rather few birds other than the occasional Raven We go there for the geology –the white quartzite cliffs and the red. Granite rocks and the beautiful clarity of the lakes. It’s a wonderful place to visit especially in the fall. We try to get there for a few days every fall and it is well worth the drive.
        I look forward to your continuing posts.
        Anne

      • Sorry so tardy. I’ve been trying to catch up with my every day life. Your adventure sounds absolutely fab. Your description of the landscape whets the appetite for travel. Glad you had a great time.

Leave a Reply

