A return to birding

Hi, folks.  Thankfully, other than somewhat reduced walking tolerance, I have no issues, won’t need any medication or therapy.  I returned to work about a week and a half ago.  Ah, it’s wonderful to be back!  I thank you all for your kindness throughout.

Carrying on.  While I was off, given the post-op restrictions (no bending, lifting, twisting), I spent a lot of time at cafes, bookstores and libraries.  The best of it was a trip to the Toronto Reference Library to view John J. Audubon’s Birds of America exhibit.  The free exhibit runs until November 29, 2015. 

Red-Tailed Hawks (Audubon print)

Red-Tailed Hawks (Audubon print)

I sniffed around the 5th floor, happily spending some time at the Arthur Conan Doyle library collection.

Arthur Conan Doyle bust and photograph

Arthur Conan Doyle bust and photograph

Sherlock Holmes stories

Sherlock Holmes stories

As I was unable to attend the talk later that evening the librarian surprised me by allowing me to view and photograph the following original correspondence.

Original letter from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to his agent

Original letter from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to his agent

I also spent time at Hendrie Valley and Lasalle Marina in a bid to increase my walking tolerance and not go mad with boredom and restlessness.  Here are a few of the species I encountered.

Hermit Thrush

Hermit Thrush

Horned Grebe

Horned Grebe

Double-crested Cormorant silhouette

Double-crested Cormorant silhouette

Common Loon

Common Loon

Carolina Wren

Carolina Wren

Carolina Wren overhead

Carolina Wren overhead

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

This hawk frequents the vicinity of Burlington GO Station.

Red-tailed Hawk adjacent to Burlington GO station

Red-tailed Hawk adjacent to Burlington GO station

Saturday, November 9th was my first outing with my favourite lens, Vlad.  I named him prior to Putin’s foray into the Ukraine.  I contemplated changing his name to Igor but, nah.

The first bird I photographed was a Fox Sparrow.

Fox Sparrow

Fox Sparrow

Dark-eyed juncos are making themselves heard and seen.

Dark-eyed Junco

Dark-eyed Junco

Purple Finch is a new species for me.

Purple Finch

Purple Finch

Can’t omit these guys!

White-breasted Nuthatch

White-breasted Nuthatch

Red-winged Blackbird

Red-winged Blackbird

Green-winged Teal have been present for at least a month or so.

Green-winged Teal

Green-winged Teal

Raptors observed included a Turkey Vulture, Red-tailed Hawks, Bald Eagles and a Sharp-shinned Hawk.  While I was at the park, my children had their own encounter with a Sharp-shinned Hawk!

Sharp-shinned Hawk on neighbour's fence

Sharp-shinned Hawk on neighbour’s fence

Sharp-shinned Hawk on neighbour's fence

Sharp-shinned Hawk on neighbour’s fence

Sharp-shinned Hawk

Sharp-shinned Hawk

In the afternoon we visited Fifty Point Conservation Area. I’ll chat about that trip next time.  If you have opportunity, do visit the marina side.  The sight of approximately 1,500 common mergansers is a treat to behold.  Keep an eye out for loons and other species.

Common Mergansers in flight

Common Mergansers in flight

 

3 thoughts on “A return to birding

  1. I am so glad to see you posting again, I have missed seeing your photographs. It is great to hear that you have regained your health and I look forward to seeing future postz and tips on what you are seeing where you have seen them. Please keep up the good work —-you brighten my day….Anne

  2. I really enjoy your blog and wonderful photos…so nice to have you back. I’m a recent follower, but still missed your work! Take care and heal well.

Leave a Reply

